pcback-5-small.jpg
IMG_5348.JPG
IMG_7889-crop.jpg
pcback-5-small.jpg

The Epic Fail


SCROLL DOWN

The Epic Fail


The ePic Fail of Arturo Zamora

ABOUT THE EPIC FAIL OF ARTURO ZAMORA

“Sensational.” —Matt de la Peña, New York Times bestselling and Newbery Medal–winning author of The Last Stop on Market Street

Save the restaurant. Save the town. Get the girl. Make Abuela proud. Can thirteen-year-old Arturo Zamora do it all or is he in for a BIG, EPIC FAIL? 

For Arturo, summetime in Miami means playing basketball until dark, sipping mango smoothies, and keeping cool under banyan trees. And maybe a few shifts as junior lunchtime dishwasher at Abuela’s restaurant. Maybe. But this summer also includes Carmen, a cute girl who moves into Arturo’s apartment complex and turns his stomach into a deep fryer. He almost doesn’t notice the smarmy land developer who rolls into town and threatens to change it. Arturo refuses to let his family and community go down without a fight, and as he schemes with Carmen, Arturo discovers the power of poetry and protest through untold family stories and the work of José Martí.

Funny and poignant, The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora is the vibrant story of a family, a striking portrait of a town, and one boy’s quest to save both, perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia.

IMG_5348.JPG

Books


Books


Books by Pablo Cartaya

The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora (Viking Children’s Books, Spring 2017) tells the story of a seventh-grader trying to save his late abuela's restaurant and win the affection of the beautiful Carmen using arroz con pollo and a little Jose Martí poetry.

“Sensational.” —Matt de la Peña, New York Times bestselling and Newbery Medal–winning author of The Last Stop on Market Street

Find out more at Penguin Random House.

The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora

Marcus Vega Doesn't Speak Spanish (Viking Children’s Books, Spring 2018) follows a school bully and his brother, who has special needs, as they head to Puerto Rico over spring break to find their estranged father.

Marcus Vega Doesn't Speak Spanish

Tina Cocolina: Queen of the Cupcakes (Random House Children’s Books, 2010) Fans of Fancy Nancy and Pinkalicious will adore Tina Cocolina, a sweet little cupcake of a girl with a sense of adventure and a flair for fashion who’s on the hunt for her perfect topping. This mouthwatering picture book includes cupcake and frosting recipes from an award-winning pastry chef, maestro Martin Howard. 

Buy the book at Randomhousekids.com.

Tina Cocolina: Queen of the Cupcakes
IMG_7889-crop.jpg

Reviews


Reviews


BOOKLIST ONLINE (STARRED) REVIEW - "At turns funny, beautiful, and heartbreaking."