pcback-5-small.jpg
286H.jpg
pcback-5-small.jpg

The Epic Fail


SCROLL DOWN

The Epic Fail


The ePic Fail of Arturo Zamora

ABOUT THE EPIC FAIL OF ARTURO ZAMORA

“Sensational.” —Matt de la Peña, New York Times bestselling and Newbery Medal–winning author of The Last Stop on Market Street

Save the restaurant. Save the town. Get the girl. Make Abuela proud. Can thirteen-year-old Arturo Zamora do it all or is he in for a BIG, EPIC FAIL? 

For Arturo, summetime in Miami means playing basketball until dark, sipping mango smoothies, and keeping cool under banyan trees. And maybe a few shifts as junior lunchtime dishwasher at Abuela’s restaurant. Maybe. But this summer also includes Carmen, a cute girl who moves into Arturo’s apartment complex and turns his stomach into a deep fryer. He almost doesn’t notice the smarmy land developer who rolls into town and threatens to change it. Arturo refuses to let his family and community go down without a fight, and as he schemes with Carmen, Arturo discovers the power of poetry and protest through untold family stories and the work of José Martí.

Funny and poignant, The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora is the vibrant story of a family, a striking portrait of a town, and one boy’s quest to save both, perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia.

Bio


Bio


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

BOOKS

The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora

(Viking Children’s Books/Penguin Random House)

Marcus Vega Doesn’t Speak Spanish

(Viking Children’s Books/Penguin Random House)

Tina Cocolina: Queen of the Cupcakes

(Random House Children’s Books)

Pablo Cartaya is the author of the forthcoming middle-grade books, The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora and Marcus Vega Doesn’t Speak Spanish (Viking Children’s Books/Penguin Random House), and the co-author of the picture book, Tina Cocolina: Queen of the Cupcakes (Random House Children’s Books).

Pablo has been a guest lecturer at Florida International University’s Exile Studies Program, visited schools throughout the northeast and South Florida, and hosted many literary events throughout the region. Pablo has led the development of various literary programs through The Betsy-South Beach's Philanthropy, Arts, Culture, and Education programs and has served on many panels and presentations. He holds an MFA from Vermont College of Fine Arts and a BA from Loyola Marymount University and currently serves as lead faculty for at Sierra Nevada College's low residency MFA in the Writing for Children and Young Adults track. He calls Miami home.

286H.jpg

News


News


TWEETS


INSTAGRAM POSTS